SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Restoration of a 1968 Columbia 50'

6K views 31 replies 18 participants last post by  Whalerus 
#1 · (Edited)
I just thought, after some suggestions that I should start a new post to document the progress of the refit/restoration of SV Siren(formerly Music, Doric and Elutheria and a few other names).

I am sure this will be ongoing for quite some time, and right now I am just beginning this week, so it will be an ongoing, live posting time frame. I am sure I will have a ton of questions, and hopefully I will be able to learn from the answers and be able to pass that information to others down the road in the future as well.

Here are a few pictures from pre-purchase, and survey.

See less See more
#4 ·
That hardly qualifies as a restoration project.

This is a restoration project - my old Columbia 43 as purchased. :wink

Attachments

#5 ·
Jon.. any contact with the buyer? Do you know if the project is progressing still?

#9 ·
Well, to start off with we removed around 50 doors and drawers to refinish. Tomorrow I will shovel off the deck to remove all the dorades to see if they can be salvaged or will need to be remade. All the exterior woodwork was stained with a deck stain, argh.

In the meantime we are making snowmen on the foredeck.

Attachments

#13 ·
I'm with Sloop, looks very doable. That finish on the wood may have saved the wood underneath. Same with the dorade boxes. The paint there may have saved them(but those are easily re-built, if need be).

Great looking boat. Thanks for posting this thread and congrats!

#12 ·
Here's some more.

Attachments

#14 ·