SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Drill hole in mast for wiring?? H34

7K views 21 replies 9 participants last post by  Effit 
#1 ·
My wife and I are trying to wrap up the last few "go" projects before we set off from New Orleans to Pensacola. As of this minute the anchor light and steaming light are not functioning. I used to work as an electrician and have done all the normal troubleshooting and the result is there is no continuity in the wires from the panel to the fixtures.

From my understanding there are connectors inside the mast at the base (which likely got overlooked or disconnected/crushed the last time the mast was stepped). There is no access for these connectors from the inside, and no access from the mast itself without raising the mast about 6".

Rigrite makes a SS cover plate intended for covering an access hole in a mast. This seems to be the only way to access the connectors with the mast stepped. I wanted to check with you all first to make sure I'm not missing anything. Also, if anyone has done this, what is the ideal location for the access hole?

Thanks!

#2 ·
My wife and I are trying to wrap up the last few "go" projects before we set off from New Orleans to Pensacola. As of this minute the anchor light and steaming light are not functioning. I used to work as an electrician and have done all the normal troubleshooting and the result is there is no continuity in the wires from the panel to the fixtures.

From my understanding there are connectors inside the mast at the base (which likely got overlooked or disconnected/crushed the last time the mast was stepped). There is no access for these connectors from the inside, and no access from the mast itself without raising the mast about 6".