SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Hit & Run

2K views 13 replies 11 participants last post by  FreeAgent 
#1 ·
Recently, someone hit my boat at the transom. There is damage on either side of one line of my back stay( I'm new to sailing so I might have a few terms wrong) I am worried the damage is structural and i feel the back stay will end up pulling this peice off my boat. If anyone has had this problem or has tips on reinforcing the damage it would be greatly appreciated.
I am having trouble uploading pictures , but will upload them soon. Thank you

#2 ·
DO NOT UPLOAD PICTURES TO SAILNET!
Use Photobucket / Picassa / etc. and post the link using the "picture link icon" - the thing that looks like a yellow sky with grey mountains, and a grey moon.

File a claim under your insurance.

#14 · (Edited)
DO NOT UPLOAD PICTURES TO SAILNET!
Use Photobucket / Picassa / etc.
Realize this is an old thread, but I am Interested in why you said that.

The advantage of uploading the pictures here, is that they are then here for good. With Photobucket and other external file sharing services, if the account is closed or company changes rules, the link then dies and the thread is no longer useful. Some here are having that trouble right now.

#4 ·
That looks pretty serious. Definitely structural. Will need a professional or someone skilled in fiberglass work.

Since you say "hit and run" I assume you do not know who did this. Hope you have hull insurance or you will paying for this out of pocket.

#5 ·