Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-23-2006

JouvertSpirit is on a distinguished road
Anchor haul using masthead halyard

Can the mainsail halyard and winch be used to pull the anchor? I have a 34# CQR with about 50' of 5/16 SS chain followed by a bunch of rode. Really hard to pull up by hand.

I thought about using the main halyard winch to pull the rode portion until the chain got to the winch, then shackle the main halyard to the chain portion for the last 50 feet. This would put 50 feet of chain in the air and the anchor at the roller. Then cleat off the anchor at the bow and let the chain down slowly.

I'm fairly new to sailing and am concerned about putting an unusual force on the masthead like this. I'm thinking it would be OK. Boat is a Pearson 10M (33') with a 48' mast.

Thanks for replies.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-23-2006

pigslo is on a distinguished road
I am not sure you want all that chain ready to knock someones head off. Buy a windless.
Old 11-23-2006
Owner, Green Bay Packers

sailaway21 is just really nice sailaway21 is just really nice sailaway21 is just really nice sailaway21 is just really nice
Why not take a snatch block and rig the halyard through it, leading along the deck? You'd have to do it a couple of times, but you wouldn't have all that detritus ( read s***) raining down on you from above.
Old 11-23-2006

I appreciate your response.

Another option is to use a chain hook and about 25 feet of line to repeatedly hook the chain and winch in the anchor using the mast mounted mainsail halyard winch. I agree, having 50' of SS chain in the air produces anxiety.

Adding a deck mounted anchor windlass right now is monetarily not possible.
Old 11-23-2006