How to rig my jib? - SailNet Community
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 07-30-2016 Thread Starter

How to rig my jib?

Hi,

I bought a 1969 O'Day Tempest (23 feet) this spring and after sailing with the mainsail only, I just put up the jib for the first time a few days ago. My previous sailing was limited to tech dinghies with simple rigging at summer camp, so I'm just learning to operate a boat this size. I have a few questions on how it should be rigged and if I need to add hardware to my boat. The jib came with the boat, though the previous owner said he used the Genoa so I don't know if this jib is right for this boat. I've posted a few pictures which will help to understand my questions.

1) The jib has a cable that is 15" long and is attached to the tack of the jib (see pic). I've used it as kind of an extension by attaching it to the shackle and then the jib is 15" higher. I've used it because it was there. A benefit is that the jib is up higher and I can see everything in front of me. The negative is that the jib sheets are very high and so I can't use the blocks and cleats and other hardware on the sides of the boat. The sheets are just too high. I end up wrapping the jib sheet around the opposite rear cleat which I'm thinking isn't smart as I couldn't pop it off in a gust.

My questions are why is this cable on the tack of the jib and should I use it as an extension or does it have another purpose?