Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-30-2006

jones2r is on a distinguished road
Question Self-Tacking Jib Conversion

I have read in the Forum archives discussions of the compromise to sail trim when self-tacking devices are employed. I have also seen some very nice boats that in their design have been outfitted this way by the manufacturer. Risking (what's the downside to risk?) displaying my unseamanship, it would seem fairly straightforward to re-rig such a boat if the owner desired better capabilities. Is this something that should be attempted?

Please feel free to take potshots; it's the price of learning. Yes, I have no experience with sophisticated rigs.

Thanks for your offerings,

Bob

Last edited by jones2r; 11-30-2006 at 05:48 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-30-2006

Goodnewsboy is on a distinguished road
One of the best sailing boats I have ever handled, a Cape Cod Bullseye, was equipped with a self tending jib "from the factory". It had a jib boom (club) arrangement that engaged the clew on one end and the forestay on the other. When viewed from abeam, the jib club seemed to be at a right angle to the forestay.

The sheet was a continuous line that ran from either side of the cockpit through fairleads on the deck just forward of the mast and thence through a single block on the clew end of the jib club. Sheet adjustments could thus be made on either end of the sheet. When tacking, the sail maintained exactly the same trim on the new tack unless an adjustment were made to the sheet.

Obviously you are limited to jibs and not genoa (lapping) jibs.

Properly done, I don't think there is any disadvantage to sail trim and when you are sailing in close quarters it makes tacking a real joy.

(Why did I ever sell that boat?)
Old 11-30-2006

khbritten is on a distinguished road