SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Injector inspection?? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/27489-injector-inspection.html)

wmiii 01-05-2007 06:25 PM

Injector inspection??

We are fixin' (Tennessee talk for "getting ready") to go to the Bahamas and after checking my Yanmar owners manual, I notice that I should check my injectors every 600-1000 hrs. With over 1500 hrs on my engine, I've never had them checked.
How important is it that I get this done? What do I need to do for this project?

Thanks,
Wm Mayberry
OPTIMYSTIQUE
IP 37-30

erps 01-05-2007 06:34 PM

That's CYA talk from the manufacturer to pop them out and send them to an injector shop to check spray pattern and to see if they're leaking (either will cause some inefficient running or starting problems). From my perspective with some time as a diesel mechanic, I practice the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it" approach. If you keep up on your fuel filters and oil changes your engine is barely broken in.

Goodnewsboy 01-05-2007 06:43 PM

Take them out and send them to a competent diesel fuel injection service shop. They will check for delivery pressure and spray pattern. If they don't check out you can have them rebuilt or buy new. Although your engine doesn't have a lot of hours, it is probably good to follow the OEM recommendations before your trip.

I'd carry at least one spare injector, a set of copper washers (gaskets) along with other recommended engine spares.

camaraderie 01-05-2007 07:00 PM

Ditto on the spares but unless yer seeing something out the back of the boat that ain't right...I wouldn't mess with them. No problem getting competent diesel help in the Abacos or Exumas should you need some there. Have a great trip!

wmiii 01-06-2007 08:12 AM

Is there anything special I need to know....

about removing the injectors?