Portable Shortwave Receivers? - SailNet Community
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 01-28-2007 Thread Starter
Banned
 
capecodphyllis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 212
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
 
Portable Shortwave Receivers?

Does anyone have any experience with portable shortwave radios?

I'm looking for a shortwave receiver to listen in on local cruise nets and to pick up National Weather Service Offshore Waters Forecasts (Eastern carib). Is this possible with a portable unit, that comes with an attached antenna, such as the Sangean ATS-818ACS ? --

http://www.shortwavestore.com/sws/pr...&cat=17&page=1

It comes with a "BFO clarifier control for smooth SSB" and a cassette recorder for recording the weather forecast.

Can reception be improved by attaching a straight wire to the rigging, or some other cheap and easily removable item, like an 8' HF whip? Would there be a danger of shock?

If I understand correctly, these portables have a built-in antenna tuner of some sorts?

I'm also considering a table-top model, but only if I cannot get what I need from the portable (I like the idea of portability, and being able to use it with rechargable Nicads.)
capecodphyllis is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 01-28-2007
moderate?
 
camaraderie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: East Coast
Posts: 13,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Rep Power: 16
     
Here's some tips on portables and antennas for them:
http://www.dxing.com/tips.htm
Here's a comparison chart of portable receiver features:
http://www.universal-radio.com/catal...le/chartp.html

You might wanna tune into Chris Parkers forecasts once you get that radio. He is MUCH more accurate than the NWS for the caribe as the NWS is a GROSS forecast and doesn't begin to tell you what you need in a specific location. His broadcast schedule is here:
  • 8137 USB 7:00am AST / 6:00am EST / 1100 UTC (most reliable for much of Caribbean)
  • 4045 USB 7:30am AST / 6:30am EST / 1130 UTC
  • 8104 USB 8:30am AST / 7:30am EST / 1230 UTC
  • 12350 USB 9:30am AST / 8:30am EST / 1330 UTC
  • 16525 USB 9:45am AST / 8:45am EST / 1345 UTC
  • 6221 USB 10:00am AST / 9:00am EST / 1400 UTC (for vessels too close to Central Florida to hear me earlier)
For ALL....If you're just listening...Chris is for free...but if you want to be able to interact and ask questions specific to YOUR passages and get region specific e-mails every morning he charges a most reasonable $295 per year...or $95 for three months. He will save you far more than that just in sea-sick suppositories!!!

I have no affiliation...but hightly recommend him for anything in the Bahamas or Easter/Western Caribe. He will also work with folks on offshore passages south. Contact is Chris@mwxc.com
camaraderie is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #3 of 4 Old 01-28-2007
Warm Weather Sailor
 
Vasco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,005
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Rep Power: 9
 
I have a Sony ICF SW7600GR and it works fine for SSB and SW reception. Can get all the nets and weather. Comes with additional antenna (wire) but most times not needed. These small portables work fine. Having the built in recorder is great. Then you can transcribe and study the weather reports. Sangean is a good brand too.

Rick I
Toronto in summer, Bahamas in winter.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Vasco is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
post #4 of 4 Old 01-29-2007 Thread Starter
Banned
 
capecodphyllis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 212
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
 
Thanks for the info! good links. Very Informative.
capecodphyllis is offline  
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the SailNet Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
Please note: After entering 3 characters a list of Usernames already in use will appear and the list will disappear once a valid Username is entered.


User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Portable micro electric generators sailaway21 Gear & Maintenance 24 07-30-2012 12:11 PM
portable generator on 30ft sailboat ? Volkhard Gear & Maintenance 28 04-02-2010 11:34 AM
Portable Air Conditioners SailinJay Gear & Maintenance 4 07-22-2004 04:54 PM
The New Sailrite Portable Sewing Machine Tom Wood Gear and Maintenance Articles 0 11-18-1999 07:00 PM
The New Sailrite Portable Sewing Machine Tom Wood Cruising Articles 0 11-18-1999 07:00 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome