Dumb Furler Question... - SailNet Community

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 6 Days Ago Thread Starter

Dumb Furler Question...

Hello,

Im new to the sailing world, and last year my boat was only rigged up so that I could use the main sail (the guy couldn't find the furler when rigging) so I had no head sail.

I have since located the furler drum and realized that there is no swivel. Nothing was at the top of the forestay or in the box of parts...

The dumb question: Do all furlers require a top swivel to work indefinitely? If it matters, its a Schafer 600 furler.

Thanks
Quote Quick Reply Share with Facebook
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 6 Days Ago

Re: Dumb Furler Question...

It depends on the furler. Some, such as my Alado, has it's own halyard and no swivel at the top of the sheaves.

Some jib sails have a cable built in that the sail is raised on and the drum attaches to something other than the forestay, usually a deck pad eye.

Just need more information in order to provide the help you need. Make and model of the drum would be beneficial if you can find it.

Good luck,

Gary
post #3 of 12 Old 6 Days Ago

Never seen a furler without a swivel. Not sure how that could work. The swivel is needed to allow the sail to wrap around the forestay without wrapping the halyard around the forestay.

post #4 of 12 Old 6 Days Ago

No such thing as a dumb question if you don't know the answer to something but googling up Schaefer would have taken you to this site.
https://www.schaefermarine.com/our-p.../furler-parts/
They don't list a 600 but that doesn't mean they dont have parts for what you have. And yes you must have an upper swivel assembly. Contact them and I'm sure they'll help.
post #5 of 12 Old 5 Days Ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveyRye View Post
Hello,

Im new to the sailing world, and last year my boat was only rigged up so that I could use the main sail (the guy couldn't find the furler when rigging) so I had no head sail.