Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 02-18-2007
... a logical conclusion

Sequitur is on a distinguished road
DC Generator Choices

When specifying my new Hunter 49, I opted out of the Fischer Panda 12kW AC generator, since my planned cruising does not call for air conditioning and I foresee no AC loads that cannot be handled by my planned 840 AH house bank and an inverter.

As a back-up to solar panels and a wind generator, my thoughts are to install a small DC generator, such as the Fischer Panda 4kW.

I like the significantly higher efficiency DC gen sets offer. However, my previous generators have all been AC, so I have no experience and need some input. Have any of you experience with DC generators onboard?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-18-2007

Valiente has a spectacular aura about Valiente has a spectacular aura about
No, but I evaluated the issues of space, flexibility, fuel and usage, and I decided to go with more batteries (8d AGMs x 3), solar panels, an alternator upgrade and a Honda EU2000. I'm working quite hard not only to duplicate systems (within reason), such as genset AND wind-up starter, solar panels AND separate windlass battery, but also to run a fairly energy-efficient boat (manual pumps, super-insulated fridge/freezer, water heater from the heat exchanger, LED lights).