Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 03-07-2007

mathislaw1 is on a distinguished road
Do I nee to winterize?

I am relatively new to sailing and have just purchased my first sailboat. I live in the southern coastal portion of North Carolina (Wilmington to be exact). The winters here are pretty mild. It rarely gets below 25 degrees F and gets below freezing maybe 15 days of the year. I would like to sail my boat year round as many days in winter are in the 60's.

The question is: Should I do anything to winterize my boat?

What can you guys recommend?

Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-07-2007
Thanks Courtney.

T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about
Since it is 68 deg. today and with a low tonight of 44, i'd say you're probably fine for this winter.
Old 03-07-2007
Space cadet

Jotun is on a distinguished road
I'm sure others will chime in here, but if water will freeze on your boat, then yes, you probably should. Do you have a head and a sink? Is the engine inboard or outboard?
Old 03-07-2007

mathislaw1 is on a distinguished road
My boat has a head, galley, holding tank, water tank and an inboard Yanmar Diesel.
Old 03-07-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
If you winterize the engine, you can't run it...without winterizing it again... so if you're going to be using the boat a lot... then don't winterize it...keep an eye on it though.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take