SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Rusty seacock

4K views 11 replies 9 participants last post by  camaraderie 
#1 ·
I just bought a 36' sailboat that I am using as a liveaboard.

I just discovered a seacock that I was unaware of. It is rusty, loose, and leaking a very small amount of water from the threads between the hull fitting and shutoff valve.

I am fairly new to boats but assume that this is a critical problem. What can I do short of a haul out to temporarily stabilize this problem? I simply don't have the cash for a haul out right now. I am afraid that at any moment the entire seacock will break loose and sink the boat.

Thanks.

#2 ·
As you indicate, a rusty, loose, & leaking seacock assembly represents a critical problem; which could jeopardize your entire investment.
As a (very) TEMPORARY measure, you could try encasing the problematic parts of the assembly with a polyurethane structural adhesive/sealant, such as 3M #5200 (or #4100).
Others may counsel against 5200/4100, due to it's EXTREMELY tenacious adhesion (you'll have difficulty getting it off).
Whatever you dam it up with, do NOT use a silicone sealant.
FWIW,
Gord www.CruisersForum.com

#4 ·
Rather than encasing it in adhesive sealant, I would try using silicone self-fusing tape to seal the leak. Rescue Tape or Rubbaweld are brand names for this tape. It will be easier to clean up.

I also agree you should have a tapered wooden plug, but it should be softwood, like pine, and you need to keep it in a plastic bag, so it stays dry until you need it. That way, when you pound it into the hole, it will absorb water and swell up, essentially holding itself in place...which is why you need to keep it dry.

#5 ·