Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 03-21-2007

Starfish is on a distinguished road
Replacing Trailer Wheel Bearings

I've recently purchased a small sailboat and trailer and am wanting to repack the existing bearings or replace them if needed and have a question or two. Since this is my first attempt at repacking the bearings or replacing them, I would rather spend my time, effort and money in installing the correct parts as opposed to paying someone (like a tire and wheel place) to put in parts that are not really geared for marine use.

Since I will be sailing in fresh water only, is it necessary for the wheel bearing grease seal to have a double lip or is a single lip sufficient in helping to keep water from entering the hub? Is this really an issue when unloading and loading the boat in fresh water as opposed to salt water? I'm sure any type of water is undesirable but I just do not want to have problems with wheel bearing failure to and from the lake and want to do this right the first time.

Another question in regards to the type of grease: As long as I use a marine grade type of wheel bearing grease does it really matter what brand? I'm sure there may be some that are more favorable than others and if so what's the better brand? The reason I ask is that I can either order the grease online or I can pick up a marine wheel bearing grease at our local Auto Zone. The closest marine dealer is about an hours drive from my location.

Any advise here is appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-21-2007

redcorvette1995 is on a distinguished road
Hi,

The more "sealed" the bearings are the better, regardless of salt or fresh water.

Any good quality marine trailer grease will do.
The most important thing is to keep the grease full and fresh.
This will prevent most problems.

Cheers,

Todd
Old 03-21-2007

txmatt is on a distinguished road