Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-26-2007

l0keman is on a distinguished road
Question about my rigging

I am new to sailing, and have been reading "The Handbook of sailing" by Bob Bond. It has proven to be very useful, but of course it's not for my boat specifically. I have the directions for my boat, and they are crap.
Chrysler 22 Owner's Manual
I have been pouring ver pictures of my model other owners have submitted:
Chrysler Photos
I still can not find my answer.

the issue is... My main halyard and the jib halyard are stainless steel cables with rope backing and the backing for the two halyads are the SAME rope. So I guess the series of the rope is Jib halyard--->rope--->main halyard.. all in one continuous line. It is really hard to work with as when I pull both halyards down at the same time, the rope is WAY too high to reach and pull back down. Also, it's hard to cleat them down like this. Moreover, I have no leverage on them other than body weight. The pictures I see online, appear to be seperate lines going through pullies and such. Not sure and want to know before I cut the rope and replace with two ropes. When I bought the boat it was stripped of all hardware and it was all in a giant box with a ton of other junk.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-26-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
So, what you're saying is that the mainsail halyard is a wire-to-rope halyard. The rope part of the mainsail halyard then continues and becomes the rope portion of the jib halyard, which is also a wire-to-rope halyard.