Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 05-02-2007

GotTheNotion is on a distinguished road
Brightwork Fees

I've been doing a lot of refinishing to lately: companionways, rub rails, boom traveler, etc. I have a lot of wood working experience with guitars and furniture as well as boats. The stuff I've done looks great!! (although my expertise is sewing) Just curious to know how much people pay for having someone come out and do this sort of thing.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-02-2007
Here .. Pull this

Sailormann will become famous soon enough
It depends on how much disposable income they have - if you are thnking of doing it - look for a marina with a lot of rich people...
Old 05-02-2007

Not looking for that king of anwser

I would like to know how much people charge for brightwork.

sailormann: have you ever hired someone to do it? how much did you pay. If you did it for someone else, how much would you charge?
Old 05-03-2007
Plausible Deniability

hellosailor has a spectacular aura about hellosailor has a spectacular aura about
Notion, good skilled labor is always a "what the market can bear" situation. If you do ten feet of rail in an hour, and someone else does twenty, how can you convince the buyer that your rates are the same? You can't, you have to sell them on your overall skill and performance, and they'll pay what it is worth to them. You might find a range anywhere from $10-50 an hour, ten bucks being what you can often find cash labor at pickup stops for (with varying skills) but that's the kind of variation. Nice big yacht might go higher--or might refuse to pay the bill.

I think you need to decide how much you want per hour, then decide if that's marketable in your area, or if the local prices are higher and you can/want to match the local market. (Undercutting the market is a losing game for everyone in the long run.)
Old 05-03-2007