SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Topping Lift (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/32045-topping-lift.html)

jkrug 05-03-2007 08:39 PM

Topping Lift

Ok, a newbie here, but I do have a question; I have a Venture 21 and was wondering if there is a way to connect a topping lift cable to the backstay and then be able to have a shackle or S clip that would connect to the boom? I believe I have seen something like this, maybe on a Catalina, but did not know if it was already on the backstay to begin with or not. Any help appreciated!

Thanks.

Boasun 05-03-2007 09:13 PM

To tell you the truth: When I owned my Catalina 30, it had the topping lift attached to the back stay. It didn't take me long to figure out that it is dangerous to have it there. So I rigged a topping lift from spreader root itself. I was much more satisfied with that arrangement.

camaraderie 05-03-2007 09:15 PM

I've seen it done with wire and a simple siezing wire (like you use on your anchor shackle) attachment to the backstay. you can then make a loop in the wire with a swage tool and put a shackle on the hook. Less complicated is to simply tie a piece of line on the backstay and use rigging tape to keep in place. Won't last as long but it works.

sailingdog 05-03-2007 09:21 PM

A few caveats to having the backstay attached topping lift. It isn't usually adjustable, and it can cause the backstay to corrode where it is attached. Also, the shackle or hook can be a danger if you don't secure it when the topping lift isn't in use.

pirateofcapeann 05-03-2007 10:59 PM