Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 05-08-2007

scosch is on a distinguished road
starboard?

Im new to this, both the forum and boat maintainence.
I was reading about changing/adding a seacock, which I need to do next week, and someone mentioned using "starboard" as a material for a backing block, instead of marine plywood, which I thought was the standard. What is "starboard" and why is it better and where can I get it?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 05-08-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Starboard is a polymer "marine lumber" that is made by the Taco Plastics corporation. It is often used on boats to make pieces that are exposed to the elements and it doesn't really require any maintenance.

I would not use starboard as a backing block for two reasons. First, I don't think it has the compressive strength tha marine plywood has. Second, it is very "slick" material, and you can have some issues getting sealants to stick to it properly. Some sealants, particularly the polysulfide based ones will attack the material as well.

You can get it at many marine chandleries, like West Marine, but be prepared to pay through the nose for it. An alternative source for it is your local sign supply wholesaler. That's where I've found it at much more reasonable prices. However, you generally have to buy a half or full sheet of the material.

If you use epoxy... coat the epoxy thoroughly with epoxy, after drilling all the holes for the various fasteners you're going to use. If you're going to screw the seacock flange to the plywood backing board, instead of through-bolting, which is recommmended, then pot the holes with thickened epoxy, much like you would do for a cored deck.