Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 06-19-2007

bristol321 is on a distinguished road
Help with a rigging question please

Hi all,
This is my first post on sailnet but have been reading a lonnnnnnngggg time. I finally bought her, 32 bristol and she is beautiful. Except for some old old rigging. Most of it appears to be original equipment. On most of the boat, roller furling, mains, and peripherals I have the wire to rope rigging. I would like to replace this outdated rigging with new. Do I have to go back to wire>rope or can I replace with strictly rope? I was drooling at West marine and noticed that the tensile strength of these new lines is very high is this line an acceptable replacement? As you can probably tell I am a novice so any advice, even hire a pro rigger, would be helpful. If anyone knows of a good website etc anything at this point. Thank you
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-19-2007
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Nowadays, from a strength/stretch perspective you can certainly go to all "rope" halyards. The only complication with older rigs is whether or not the sheaves at the masthead will handle the line, which will end up being a larger diameter than the original wire.

Some sheaves (pulleys) are designed to handle rope and/or wire (esp. if the wire/rope transition is spliced) but some are only sized for the wire, so getting a line through may be difficult, and the land of the pulley may not suit the line.

Be sure to get some pre-stretched or low stretch line for this purpose - regular dacron yacht braid really isn't the right stuff - (but will do in a pinch, esp if there's no performance criteria involved. - you'll pay a premium for good line, but it's worth it from a sail setting point of view).