Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-03-2007

Mithril is on a distinguished road
Is ICOM M802 the only choice?

If I am looking for a marine SSB tranciever with Ham, VFO, and Pactor Modem capability; an automatic tuner and DSC, is the ICOM M802 the only choice? Or is it just what everyone uses? Is there another unit I should be looking at?

Thanks..
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-03-2007
Alabama Member

islandzephyr is on a distinguished road
The IC-M802 is the only one I know of that does what the 802 does (although it doesn't rx or tx in the 2m band but I wouldn't really expect it to), but I am relatively new to ham and haven't really checked out the 802's competition all that much.

I did notice this on ICOM's website about the 802, so you might want to make sure you get one that has the mod done already. It is certainly on my short list and I have seen the backstay setup and, done correctly, it looks great.

Scott

"IC-M802 Technical Notice
For a while now, we have received isolated reports of audio “clipping” during transmit regarding the M802. The exact symptom is when the operator speaks, on certain voice patterns, the receiving party may hear part of the word being cut out and then the transmission quickly comes back. The operator may hear a few more words and then the symptom would repeat.

After considerable research into this issue, Icom has identified that this occurs when the radio’s antenna system is generating an SWR of 1.6 or more.

Proper installation and maintenance of an antenna system may help reduce your SWR and if you have any questions about your antenna system, please consult a qualified marine electronics dealer.

But there are antenna situations where the SWR may be higher than 1.6 (depending on a number of factors).

Icom has discovered an improvement that will make sure the radio will not “clip”, no matter the SWR.