Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-03-2007
~007~

eazy0ne is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to eazy0ne
Shoal draft modification, is this a good idea?

I am seeking some advice about modifying my 23’ 1973 Aquarius. I am new to sailing (4months) and she is my first boat. I purchased the boat in poor condition and refurbished it completely and I have since enjoyed several weekend sailing trips on lake Texoma here in Texas. This boat has a keel on a winch and I have overhauled this system and it still seems to be to be the weak link when I am sailing (had a couple failures, nothing too serious). Is it possible on this type of boat to remove the keel and sail without it? Would this adversely affect my sailing performance? I have been out on a couple days where the wind exceeded 20mph and the boat seemed to handle the same with it up or down. Really the only difference I've noticed with it down, is it makes for considerably slower sailing. The keel is a 165lb piece of steel that rides on a pivot pin. The boat has 815lb of lead ballast. Would I need to add ballast to compensate for it being gone? This boat will only be lake sailed. Any thoughts on removing it would be greatly appreciated. If the idea of sailing without it is retarded, please let me know before I try it! Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-03-2007
humble pie rat

CapnHand is on a distinguished road
Have you tried looking here? Aquarius-owners : For all A-21 and A-23 Aquarius Sailboat owners "Coastal Recreation"

Generally, removing the keel would be considered only by the learning disabled.

Sailing downwind, you would get more speed by lifting it. You should get very poor performance on a beat or a reach with the keel up.

Last edited by CapnHand; 07-03-2007 at 01:39 PM.
Old 07-03-2007

CBinRI is on a distinguished road