SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Coolant Question (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/35154-coolant-question.html)

labatt 07-20-2007 01:25 PM

Coolant Question

We've got a Yanmar 4JH3E. We just noticed that the external coolant tank is EMPTY so we're assuming we have to bring it up to the fill level. Since the boat is new to us, is it recommended to do a full replacement of the coolant before adding new coolant? Or can we just buy any marine coolant (what kind do we get?) and fill 'er up to the full line? If we need to do a replacement, is there usually a coolant drain screw?

Cruisingdad 07-20-2007 03:22 PM

Hi Labatt,

I am not a diesel mechanic, so I will tell you what I do...

Regarding the overflow, assuming that is what you are talking about, yes, fill it up to the cold line. Your mixture should be 50:50 antifreeze and water. Also, with the engine cold, check the "radiator cap" and make sure she is full. I use automotive type antifreeze/coolant.

I would just add new coolant unless the old needed replacement. One word of warning that I have been exposed to: Often times when changing out the fluid, especially if flushing it clean, you will expose any pin holes. Watch for leaks if you do flush it. I am not sure why that happens, unless the flush cleans out the lines/rust that clogged the holes in teh first place.

One other question: Where did the fluid go?

Again, these are what I would do. If someone more knowledgeable knows better, please feel free to correct me.

- CD

redcorvette1995 07-20-2007 03:39 PM

Hi,