Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-30-2007
I'm the FNG still...

Lancer28 is on a distinguished road
Charging system questions

Hi everyone -

I am just getting started rebuilding my charging system after last week when I accidentally tried to charge both batteries at once and let the "magic smoke" out of my alternator and regulator.

The wires weren't up to spec with the length they were running, so I am gutting it all and replacing everything.

The engine is a johnson sail drive, 1978, with 15hp, model 15BEL I think. I have found a replacment alternator, but there are no wiring diagrams for my ship, and everything is grey, white, and one wire in there is red... (ARGH) another reason for re-wiring. Lucky me, everything is now located within 5 feet of the inboard engine, besides the two runs to battery banks now that I have pulled the engine electricals and consolidated them in one spot, so I don't have to disturb the crew sleeping if I were to have an emergency or electrical breakdown while out to sea.

My questions -

On the wiring - Can't I just have my alternator with a switch like the "on" terminal on the ignition to provide the 12V to the engine and field coil? The rest of the ship runs from the Battery Select switch to a large breaker panel.

After the alternator, is there a way I can get rid of the old regulator with relays in it (it is a wiring MESS!!!) and use a digital one?

Is there any forseeable problems wiring the Ground directly from the batteries to the engine/saildrive aithout going through a switch?

I've drawn up my own wiring diagrams for the ship, which I could attach if anyone is interested and it would help figure out how to wire up the new charging system.