Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 08-20-2007

justified is on a distinguished road
Atomic 4 shut down problem

I have a '78 atomic 4. I have replace the fuel pump and filter. When I run for around 2 hours it just shut down , like it's getting a vapor lock, I give it a rest and it will restart . any ideas?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-20-2007

jldooley is on a distinguished road
i'm no expert, but even i need more info. Is it a gas or diesel engine? how long a 'rest' is required. complete cool down or just a 5 minutes? have you tried checking the fuel tank vent? is it clogged? what if you open the tank immeidately after shutdown is it stuck tight? does it make sucking sounds?

if gas: how old is the carburator? how clean? how about the points are they old ? foulded?
Old 08-20-2007

sailhog has a spectacular aura about sailhog has a spectacular aura about
If it doesn't restart right away, I would look at replacing the coil. If it does start up again right away, look to see if the vent is clear. After that, look at the fuel itself. If it's an ethanol blend and you haven't added a fuel stabilizer, it could have degraded. The other likely possibiilty is the carburator. I've been having the same trouble with mine, and I have yet to completely solve the problem. It could be fuel starvation, but it's definitely not vapor lock. I'll be monitoring your progress...
Old 08-20-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
jldooley-

Atomic 4's are all gasoline engines.

Have you checked the fuel filters? Do you have a fuel/water separator? Have you checked the fuel tank vent line for blockages?

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Telstar 28