Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 09-05-2007

CapnSantiago is on a distinguished road
Turning Diesel Key Off?

I have a 1983 Islander Bahama 30 with a Volvo Penta MD7A 13 horsepower diesel. I have no experience with diesel engines and was told to use the pull handle on the engine cotrol panel to kill it and then turn the key off, which I have been doing. I did inadvertently turn the key off once (being used to turning off car engines) and when nothing happened turned it back on and then pulled the kill handle. Sometime after this incident I re-connected the remote battery charger monitor/status panel (which had been disconnected prior to the incident for relocation) and found that it is not working. Is this a coincidence or did I potentially damage something by turning the engine key off while running? I have been told that if you turn the batteries off while the engine is running it will damage the diode (although I don't know what diodes are).

So: Why does the diesel engine have this kill handle instead of just turning the key off? What exactly doeas this kill handle do to kill the engine? What can happen if you turn the key off while the engine is running? Did I fry the charger monitor by turning the key off (or did I fry the charger itself...please say no)? Where is the diode and what does it do (or not do when its fried)?

Thanks - Capn Santiago
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 09-05-2007
1987 Pearson 27

Joel73 has a spectacular aura about Joel73 has a spectacular aura about Joel73 has a spectacular aura about
Capn-
I'm not much help here except for i know that the "Kill Handle" stops the fuel from getting to the engine.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.