Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-27-2000

PatWatt is on a distinguished road
Cabin Heaters

We are going to put a diesel fired forced hot air heating system in our
Tayana 37. We are debating between a Webasto model AT-5000 and an Espar D5LC.
Does anyone have any advice or experience on the pros and cons of each?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-27-2000

Lusk is on a distinguished road
Cabin Heaters

I have been teaching aboard charter boats in the Northwest for eight years on many types of vessels. I have found that the predominant marine heating system has been the Wabasto syetem. I have also heard that the espar units do not hold up under continous live-aboard type use. Hope this helps.
Old 12-16-2000

Constantin is on a distinguished road
Cabin Heaters

I installed a Webasto Airtop 5000 into our 39'' Prout Escale. It replaced a DL4C from Espar that had rusted through completely due to water ingress via a crappy hatch in the rear (that''s another story)

We rebuilt the hatch to incorporate drains (what a novel concept) and then installed the webasto I bought at sure marine in WA. Their home-made installation manual was simply amazing in detail, they really cover everything. The standard Webasto manual is rather limited.

Would the DL4C have lasted longer under non-soaking conditions? Probably. But I''m delighted with the Webasto we have. The unit runs well and keeps the crew happy and warm. The variable speed fan is a real plus. The Webasto also costs less than the Espar competition.

If you want to see the stages of the retrofit/fix, follow the links on vonwentzel.net to the Prout Escale section and then onto "Lets Just Pretend it''s Warm".
Old 12-18-2000

goose is on a distinguished road
Cabin Heaters

does anyone have any imput on the Dickinson heaters? I''m considering the diesel fired Newport.
Old 12-18-2000

davejean is on a distinguished road
Cabin Heaters