SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Jack stands

4K views 19 replies 9 participants last post by  sailingdog 
#1 ·
I need to support my soon to be new boat on a flatbed trailer for a short move to my house (1/2 mile) The boat will stay on the flatbed until ready to go in the water using a travellift type crane.

I have no experience with this.

Can someone make a recommendation on how to support the boat with jack stands and also, where would I get these stands from?
The boat has a full keel and weighs 20 000 lbs

#2 ·
GBURTON,

For jackstands, check places like Defender Marine, Hamilton Marine, or Jamestown Distributors.

You indicate you have no experience with moving large boats by trailer. It would be a good idea to either seek professional help or at a minimum get someone involved who does have some experience. I am frankly a bit leery of your idea to set the boat on jackstands on a flatbed. Take a look at the typical hydraulic trailer used for moving boats of this size and you will understand what I mean.

Also, check with your insurance company. Your method of moving the boat may not be covered by the policy....

#4 ·
Agreed..

A proper solid cradle on a good flatbed might be acceptable, but a flat bed has too much flex (esp under a 20,000 lb load) for jack stands to be reliable for the transport phase for sure.

#5 ·
You really need a solid cradle for a 10 ton boat being moved on a flatbed. I can't think of a flatbed that is made rigidly enough to keep the boat stands in place properly.

#7 ·