Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-15-2007

drsm is on a distinguished road
Wooden boat maintenance

I'm just getting started in the search for small cruising boats--my wife and I spend our time blasting around on Lake Michigan in a 17' trimaran. I read somewhere, maybe from one of the Pardeys' articles, that wooden boats didn't really require more maintenance than the more modern fiberglass boats. I have been specifically avoiding wooden boats (although I love their looks and remodeling potential) in my search, because I thought they would be a bear in the maintenance department (not that any boat doesn't require its share of upkeep). Can anyone supply me with real life answers? The context here is if a wooden boat could be found that was in good condition to start with, not a giant fix-me-up boat.

Thanks,

SteveM
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-15-2007
Move over Joan Rivers!

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough
Steve, the love of wooden boats can affect you deeply in the pockets. If your serious about it, I'd first take inventory of your skills, be realistic. Sooooo many people get wooden boats thinking the same way... next thing you know it's sitting for yrs in a backyard, back of a marina. or just being cut up for firewood. I would suggest you join a Seaport museum that has an active boat restoration dept. Join some wooden boat organizations. When you see what is involved in restoring wooden boats you may change your mind. Maintaining them is not all that differant than fiberglass unless they are left on the hard to dry out/fall apart which is often.

Any kind of lumber is very expensive, Boat woods even more so. The skills of steam bending, caulking, and planking are fun if you like working with your hands.