Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-30-2007
I'd rather be sailing

labatt will become famous soon enough
Buffing, Waxing, process, amounts?

OK... I'm new to detailing. I'm going to follow the recommendations here and pick up a Makita 9227C. I only have 4-6 hours to do a 40 foot Passport before I have to cover it and also move on to other projects. I'd like to do the best I can in that time period. I read Halekai's excellent info but I don't think I have time (or the patience) to wetsand and then do all of the other steps. There are a couple of dozen threads here, of varying ages, asking about waxes, poliglow, buffing, etc. Can someone walk me through, step by step, the products and process? Based on what I've read, the 3M products seem to be the most popular - but which ones, and how much do I need for a 40 foot boat?

I apologize for asking a question that's been asked a lot before (especially since I often tell people to use the search button) but there doesn't seem to be much info covering ALL the processes of getting the boat looking decent (note I don't say GREAT) balancing time vs. quality. Also, nobody seems to talk about the quantity of goop to get. Thanks!
s/v "Pelican" Passport 40 #076- Finished Cruising - for the moment -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
"Don't dream your life, live your dream" - Bob Bitchin'
"I'll see it when I believe it" - Me
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-30-2007

JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough JohnRPollard is a jewel in the rough
Labatt,

If you just want to keep it relatively simple and get the job done, I might suggest something like this:

http://www.jamestowndistributors.com...+Polishing+Kit
Old 10-30-2007