Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 10-30-2007

hertfordnc is on a distinguished road
Will any alternator do?

I just blew the alternator on my Yanmar 2QM20. Given that I am going to rework the electrical system how much difference does it make to have that specific alternator? I'm fairly new to this. The mount itself is adjustable and all the marine alts I've seen seem to have the same general mount.

Am i missing anything?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-30-2007

cardiacpaul is a jewel in the rough cardiacpaul is a jewel in the rough cardiacpaul is a jewel in the rough
what... did you blow? diode plate, rectifiers, regulator, and how do you know its blown? was it a victim of "smoke technology?" (works till the smoke comes out)

Some people are like slinkies: not really good for anything... but you can't help laughing when you push them down the stairs
Old 10-30-2007

Bermuda is on a distinguished road
You do not need to go with original equipment. The key is the yoke size and pulley alignment. That particular alternator is probably a Hitachi with a built in regulator. Built in or not is another important question. If you want better battery charging management you might consider an alternator sans the regulator and install a smart regulator. Another thing you want to consider is the alternator output, you do not want a 100 amp alternator for an engine of that size for everytime it kicks in you would lose 15 to 25 percent of your engine horses.

There are many aftermarket 'marine' alternators, Balmar and Ample Power to name two. I know of a company down in the Marathon region of the keys who supposedly builds very inexpensive replacements, I dont have any information handy but would be happy to get his number if you ask.