Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 11-05-2007

jobrantley is on a distinguished road
chip in deck

Hi everybody,

I am a first time boat owner(complete newbie) and am confused about repairs to a chip in the deck. I have read several threads on here about people having "cracks" and "crazying" on their decks.

For cracks, it seems the general suggestion is to first see if there is a bigger stress problem somewhere and fix that, and then grind out the crack a bit, fill with thickened epoxy and paint over or gelcoat.

I have what I would describe as a chip in my deck. I think the above repair steps would apply to it but I'm not 100% sure and I'm looking for some guidance. I took a picture of it so you can see what I'm talking about.

http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/b...y/_MG_5895.jpg

I am a little confused on the terminology. Is the entire white part missing the gel coat??? Is the dark fibrous looking stuff underneath fiberglass?? Does the grind, thickened epoxy, paint or gel coat apply to this?

Thanks for all your help.

Jon
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-05-2007
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
What you have is a chip in the gelcoat, probably over a void in the layup. If you put any weight or stress on the unsupported gelcoat, that's effectively what you'd get.

The white stuff is the gelcoat...the dark stuff is the fiberglass. You should probably grind it out a bit and then fill the area with thickened epoxy. BTW, you probably want to grind away any unsupported gelcoat and fill the entire void.

BTW, use either chopped fiberglass or microballons for the thickening agent, not cabosil or colloidial silica, since you may have to sand this a bit. Get it as fair to the final shape as possible..