SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Gear & Maintenance (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/)
-   -   Replacing forestay...? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/gear-maintenance/38950-replacing-forestay.html)

marinesniper 12-02-2007 12:15 AM

Replacing forestay...?

Hello, I am new to things...I need to replace my forestay, and I was wondering what is the best way to support the mast while doing this...?

My boat is deck stepped... I want to use the mainsail shroud for support, connecting it to the fore part of the boat, then climb the mast and disconnect the forestay...

Please help me with some recomendations, or a link to some pictures on how to do this that might help...

thanks...

HoffaLives 12-02-2007 02:45 AM

not sure why you need to support the mast -slacken off the backstay and the shrouds should keep the mast up. if you are worried though, use a halyard; the jib or mainsail halyard can be attached to a cleat or something on the bow and tightened up to take the tension off the stay.

i had to do this to fit my boat in a travelift. it couldn't reach the boat with the forestay in place so we used a halyard to take the tension off the forestay and disconnected it from the bow.

Idiens 12-02-2007 06:34 AM

It depends on your rig. If you have four mid shrouds and two cap shrouds, Hoffa is right. If all your shrouds come down to one point, port and stbd, then you will need to rig a halyard to temporarily replace the tension of the forestay.

Anyway, releasing the tension of the back stay and using a halyard to replace the forestay, so leaning the mast forward a little will help a lot in getting the new forestay attached prior to re-tensioning.

Faster 12-02-2007 11:22 AM

By the look of it, your fore-and-aft lower spreaders have a fairly wide base so the mast isn't going to fall over if you remove the forestay.