Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 12-02-2007

marinesniper is on a distinguished road
Replacing forestay...?

Hello, I am new to things...I need to replace my forestay, and I was wondering what is the best way to support the mast while doing this...?

My boat is deck stepped... I want to use the mainsail shroud for support, connecting it to the fore part of the boat, then climb the mast and disconnect the forestay...

Please help me with some recomendations, or a link to some pictures on how to do this that might help...

thanks...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 12-02-2007

HoffaLives is on a distinguished road
not sure why you need to support the mast -slacken off the backstay and the shrouds should keep the mast up. if you are worried though, use a halyard; the jib or mainsail halyard can be attached to a cleat or something on the bow and tightened up to take the tension off the stay.

i had to do this to fit my boat in a travelift. it couldn't reach the boat with the forestay in place so we used a halyard to take the tension off the forestay and disconnected it from the bow.
364 feet

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

our life afloat:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 12-02-2007
Larus Marinus

Idiens is on a distinguished road
It depends on your rig. If you have four mid shrouds and two cap shrouds, Hoffa is right. If all your shrouds come down to one point, port and stbd, then you will need to rig a halyard to temporarily replace the tension of the forestay.

Anyway, releasing the tension of the back stay and using a halyard to replace the forestay, so leaning the mast forward a little will help a lot in getting the new forestay attached prior to re-tensioning.
Old 12-02-2007