Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 01-02-2008

flyingwelshman will become famous soon enough
Happy New Year all. (Blwyddyn Newydd Dda!)

So here's the deal:

I am new to sailing (1 season).

I have a 1979 Nash 26' (tiller).

I sail in Southern Georgian Bay, with the plan to sail up to Northern Georgian Bay (North Channel, Tobermory etc.) this summer.

I want to sail solo this year as I am off all summer and can't always get crew.

My boat is pretty well equipped:

- Old Garmin chart plotter, that still works but I want to upgrade. (I do supplement that with a hand-held Garmin plugged into my laptop with older charts loaded. (Of course I have all of the most up-to-date paper charts and subscribe to NOTMAR for up-dates)

- Depth sounder / fish finder - seemed to work well until the last trip of the season when weird lines started to show up on the display. I plan on replacing it this year.

- VHF radio (analog) and handheld portable

- self inflating Mustang PFD's

etc. etc.

Anyway, next week is the annual Toronto Boat Show and I'm itching to spend some money.

If you were me, what should I be looking for?

A few things:

I was thinking of an autohelm, but a couple of members here pointed out the Tiller Tamer. So for $30 ish compared to $2000 ish I thought I would give it a try. Does anyone have experience with this or any other similar product?

Based on a discussion on another thread I will be getting a couple of harnesses and tethers. Any recommendations on brands / styles etc? What about jack lines? Can these be any suitable line or should I be looking for something special?

Any other gadgets or gizmos that have made your sailing life more safe / enjoyable? (I saw a folding dish rack at a local shop - I think this would be an improvement over the one I have been using.)

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks