Running an outboard motor that has a generator without a battery is bad? - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 01-14-2008
Helms ALee!

tenuki will become famous soon enough
Running an outboard motor that has a generator without a battery is bad?

i'm kinda embarrassed to admit this, cause I have a degree in Electrical Engineering, I just wasn't thinking...

I ran my outboard all summer without connecting it to a battery. It's a Yamaha 8hp electric start and alternator, with pull start too, so I've just been pull starting it and had the leads that would normally connect to a battery just covered and isolated. duh.

When I pulled it this fall for maintenance, I started thinking.. you know, it probably is very damaging for that alternator to run without a load of any kind. I'll know if I did any damage when I do the maintenance and then re-install it with a battery but it sucks I didn't think of that earlier.

What is everyone's opinion on this, I was pulling it out when it dawned on me, don't know if it's common knowledge or not.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by tenuki; 01-14-2008 at 04:39 AM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-14-2008

artbyjody is just really nice artbyjody is just really nice artbyjody is just really nice artbyjody is just really nice
You are ok....