Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 03-31-2008

Waugh is on a distinguished road
Battery Ratings

I apologize if my questions dip into the realm of dumb for I am very new to the sailing.

I am trying to determine what battery(s) are needed for my boat. I used West Marine's Electrical Budget Worksheet to create an excel sheet and estimate usage numbers. From that it seems I need somewhere from 85 - 95 AH.

I thought everything was all good until I called a local battery distributor. They say that the RCM is the stat to look at. From what I've read, RCM is the time, in minutes, that a battery will deliver 25 amps. So does that mean that a battery rated at 120RCM would support 20A for 150 minutes? How do I go about figuring my battery needs based on RCM? Or just in general?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 03-31-2008

btrayfors will become famous soon enough btrayfors will become famous soon enough
Most deep-cycle batteries are rated in amp-hours (AH) at the 20-hour rate. For example, a "100AH deep-cycle battery" will deliver approximately 5 amps for a 20-hour period before reaching 10.5 volts, at which point it is effectively dead.

As a rule-of-thumb, you should not draw a battery down more than 50% of its rated capacity, thus a 100AH battery really only provides 50AH before reaching 50% depletion. Actually, because of numerous inefficiencies in the way batteries are used -- and recharged -- on boats, it's better to use a more conservative figure, say only 40% of the battery's rated capacity is really usable on a continuing basis.