Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-05-2008
Vets

dennisvetter is on a distinguished road
How much of my core is wet?

I purchased a 1970 C&C 30' a couple of years ago. She's my first boat of this size so I'm pretty new to boat repair but love to tackle things myself. I love this boat and really want to gradually bring her back up to snuff. Before I invest too much in her I want to make sure I'm not "painting over rust" so to speak.

What I'd like to know is the extent of my core is wet as it will be a pivotal piece of information for me.

I have found some areas which were wet so I know I have some issues although I don't have any delaminated or spongy areas on the deck. The deck under the traveler was damaged as were a couple of areas around chainplates/stanchions (but not all). The chainplate/stanchion areas seem to be pretty isolated and I've successfully repaired them. The area under the traveler was fairly extensive (~2 sq. feet).

After I found the traveler problem I went "looking for trouble" last fall and borrowed a moisture meter from the yacht broker I purchased her through. I found a number of areas where the meter readings indicated it was wet. So I did an exploratory surgery (i.e. cut a 1" diameter hole into the core from the cabin in an inconspicuous place) and ... it was bone dry. (I'm hoping it's the case of a good tool in the hands of a bonehead ... ).

My questions are:

1) what's the best way to determine the extent of moisture damage ... unequivocally without too much exploratory surgery if possible. Are the moisture meters pretty reliable and "bullet proof" or does it take someone who really knows how to use it (and when they might be getting a false positive)?

2) if exploratory surgery is necessary, what's the best way to go about it without creating an ugly mess of my beautiful headliner (it's really pristine)?