Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-20-2008

richrand is on a distinguished road
engine/shaft coupler alignment?

I searched the forum and found a bunch of posts on this issue, but none that got to my question. So hear it is:

I just installed a new (used) inboard 1GM diesel engine replacing a BMW D7.

I've connected the shaft coupler to the transmission and there is an ever-so-slight wobble as I rotate the shaft by hand. I spent a few hours aligning the engine to the coupler and I just can't seem to eliminate it.

First, I read here that final adjustments should be made on the water with the rig at tension, not on the hard, so I know I'm not done.

Second, do I just need to keep trying to get it perfect, or is this little wobble acceptable? My instinct is "no", but I've never done this before. I keep thinking about how much the engine is going to bounce around when it's running.

-Rich
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-21-2008

Valiente has a spectacular aura about Valiente has a spectacular aura about
Is the wobble from the engine mounts, or from looseness in the shaft? Can the mounting nuts be raised or lowered to align the engine itself?

Is the keyway firmly on the shaft side of the coupler? Is there a "grub screw" from the collar of the coupler to the shaft? Is there room to put in a rubber-type "Drive Saver" that might compensate (and eliminate some vibration)?

Do you have a traditional stuffing box and is it slotted into a thrust bearing? Are various hoses and clamps loose?

Do you know if the shaft is in fact straight? Is there play in the cutlass bearing? They wear out and there's a special tool for sliding in replacements.