Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 04-23-2008

mauidan15 is on a distinguished road
engine still not running

So my engine still isn't running. The other week my engine shut down on me. It started to spit white smoke, sputtered and few times and that was it. The fuel filter was full of water. Changed the filter and disconnected the fuel tank, cleaned it out and reconnected it. Refueled w/ new prefiltered fuel and still nothing.

Any and all suggestions welcome. This is my first diesel so I'm still learning, but I'm about to give up and hire a mechanic if I cann't get it going by this weekend.

Sundown
1969 30' Windward
A constant work in progress
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-23-2008
Larus Marinus

Idiens is on a distinguished road
Did you bleed the air out of the fuel system? If not, no wonder. You have to bleed the air out by loosening a connections in turn, starting from the filter and pumping with the lift pump until no bubbles are in the fuel, then on to the next one. On my old Volvo, that was about five point including the injector heads, on the current Yanmar, its one point on top of the fine filter. You just have to get the air out.
Old 04-23-2008

btrayfors will become famous soon enough btrayfors will become famous soon enough
You'll save yourself a LOT of heartache and expense if you hire a diesel mechanic for 1-2 hours to show you how to bleed your engine properly and to check for critical functioning parts.

Alternative: buy Calder's diesel engine book and spend this weekend and next reading it carefully and checking things against your engine.

Probably best to do both: hire the mechanic for one hour, buy Calder's book, read it thoroughly, and you'll be well on your way in diesel engine care and feeding :-)

Bill
Old 04-23-2008
Señor Member

TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough TrueBlue is a jewel in the rough