Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 06-09-2008

Sometimesbrilliant is on a distinguished road
Bought a furler - Install tips?

So I have taken the (pricey) plunge and picked up a roller furler for the headsail. I have bought a Schaefer CF-700. While on the topic of shopping... Local marine store (Brewer's in Hamilton): $850 (cdn) West Marine $1289(usd) ouch! I guess it saves to shop local!

Anyhow, I am going to be installing the furler this weekend. I'm studying the install booklet and readying tools and such. In the meantime I thought I'd ask this community for any hints, tips, gotchas and such you have encountered installing a furler?

Dan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-09-2008
Thanks Courtney.

T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about T34C has a spectacular aura about
Read the directions.

Seriously, read and reread the directions. Take the parts out and see how they go together as described in the directions. It will make the actual installation on the boat go much smoother if you already know how all the parts work together.
Old 06-09-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
Are you replacing the forestay? If not, you probably should be, especially if it is more than five years old.

Dry fitting the pieces or at the least, laying them out and making sure you have a good idea of what order they assemble in is a very good idea. If you have to cut the foil to match your forestay... measure twice, if they don't match... measure again... then cut. If in doubt, cut it a little long, since you can always trim it a bit more. It is a bit harder to stretch the foil if you're a bit short.