Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 06-23-2002

ArthurJohn is on a distinguished road
OMC Sail Drive 15 HP Engine

Does anyone know how to replace the water-pump in this engine? I have never done it before and the marina''s around here, Peoria, Illinois, won''t touch this engine. I am the originbal owner of this boat...1980 model...thank you for helping me....I am a not a mechanic..but will have to fix this myself it appears...thank you...HELP!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-24-2002

mikehoyt is on a distinguished road

1. Disconnect the cables from the battery(s).
2. Disconnect the control cables (throttle to starboard and gear selector to port), battery cables, exhaust hose, fuel line and wiring. If your motor has the alternator kit remove that as well. (The lighter you can make it, the better.)
3. Remove the 4 bolts and 2 nuts that hold the motor on. There are 2 bolts and one nut each on port and starboard sides. The nuts are furthest aft. This can all be reached from the front side of the motor. There are no bolts to remove on the aft side of the motor. The nut on the starboard side is the toughest one to get but it can be done with a regular box end wrench and some patience. (either 7/16" or 1/2", I don''t recall)
4. Gently pry the motor up off the adaptor plate with a large screwdriver or small pry bar. Go slowly and think about what you are prying against, work from side to side. Once the seal is broken the work starts.
5. Lift the motor straight up and off the drive shaft (about 2 inches). (This is the part where you discover everything you did not disconnect) Set the motor aside and be careful it doesn''t tip over and break something. Next, the gear selector linkage has to be disconnected from the vertical rod that disappears down into the lower unit. Be careful not to break the locking tab as you will need to reuse it.