Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 06-22-2008

Allanbc is on a distinguished road
Snake on a Boat

OK, not quite sure where to post this but here it goes...

I have been traveling for the past three months and haven't been out to my boat. I keep the boat at a wet slip on Lake Travis outside of Austin, Texas. I went out to my boat this morning and the first thing I saw was a large snake skin leading from under the hatch cover into the space that it slides into. This was a big snake skin (snake was probably at least 2" in diameter). I climbed aboard (looking around cautiously). I opened the hatch cover and looked inside. There were three places where a snake had regurgitated the fish bones of a meal on the sole. But there was not a visible snake. The cabin did not have a smell of snake (yes they do have a smell) and it didn't smell like the snake had died in there. Needless to say I was a bit dismayed about going into the cabin as I was in shorts and flip flops.

I opened the port lazerette as it gives easy access to the engine and space under the cockpit. Much to my surprise, there was another snake skin! This one was at least 6 feet long. Again, no visible snake.

So, now to my question, does anyone know how to get a snake out of a boat?

I didn't have my camera with me but I am going back to the boat tomorrow and will take pictures.

Difference between a power boater and a sailor out on the water: A power boater is going some place special, a sailor is already there.

s/v Zotz 1981 Pearson 365 Ketch Hull #375
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 06-22-2008
Back to just the Jon boat

therapy23 is on a distinguished road
I have a stick with a loop at the end that can be tightened that I made.
Catching snake skins is easy.
or,
Wait till he leaves and move the boat. That'll fix em'.
Old 06-22-2008
Trim for Sail