Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 12-18-2000

Badfish is on a distinguished road
Removing antifouling paint

Ok, Im new to owning a Sailboat so forgive me if this is a stupid question or idea. My wife and I just bought an 11 year old 18ft trailer sailer. The previous owner didnt trailer it and only pulled it out of the water for winter so hes had the bottom painted with antifouling paint. We intend on trailering it so we really dont need the hull painted. The boat is in good shape but it is 11 years old so its got some small cosmetic problems that I would like to attend to this winter. One of them is the antifouling paint. Its thin in places and has turned ugly. My question is, instead of repainting the hull, can I remove the antifouling paint completely and restore the gelcoat? Is this so expensive or time consuming thats its impractical?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 12-19-2000

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about

You can remove old bottom paint, but I am not sure that I would ever classify it as easy. Depending on the type of bottom paint you have two choices. If the bottom paint is of teh "soft" type or is a harder bottom paint like ''Vinylast''that has some age on it, then the fastest way to remove it is with a hook scraper. I have removed all of the bottom paint on a 22 footer in a little over a day.
The key here is to get a hook scraper with a good handle and a smooth edge (rather than serated) and keep the blade sharp (carry a metal file in your back pocket and stop and sharpen when ever you feel like you are working too hard). Wear eye protection, a good quality repirator (face mask with filters not the surgical masks that are out there)and a tyvek suit.