Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-06-2008

hillbillybear is on a distinguished road
Smile setting up as a single handed package

I am VERY new to sailing. I am researching craft as I learn. Can all lines on all sailboats be led to the cockpit for singlehandling? I'm not totally ignorant. I have some ideas on what I want, and what I want to do with it. Primarily the boat will be used for coastal cruising and for trips to the Bahamas. It will also be used as a liveaboard. I have no desire for anything too large. Something between 25-32 feet with a draft of about 3.5 to 4.5 feet. I really don't need anyone to preach to me that such a boat is too small. Other than that, thanks for all the input.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-06-2008
Sailor

Plumper is on a distinguished road
My experience single handing is that sometimes leading lines aft can be the wrong thing to do. For example, if you have a jib that is not on a furler then you need to control the dropping of the jib from forward and the halyard should be at hand. The same with other sails that need you to manage as they come down.
Certainly reefing lines and the main halyard, vang, preventer etc should come back to where you can handle them safely. Headsails require some thought depending on the boat and the style of luff attachment (hanks, foil, furler).
Is bound in shallows and in miseries.
Shakespeare, Julius Caesar IV, iii, 217
Old 07-06-2008
Handsome devil

Stillraining is a jewel in the rough Stillraining is a jewel in the rough Stillraining is a jewel in the rough
Way, way, way to small....

Welcome Aboard..
Old 07-06-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice