Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-08-2008

bluwateronly is on a distinguished road
Hard to find starter

Hello all, I have a 1976 31 Bombay Clipper. The motor is a 75 Westerbeke L25. The starter is cranking real slow so I pulled it and had it tested at a local Diesel marine electrics shop and he said it was turning slow and smelled burnt. This is what I expected but I did not expect him to tell me he can't get parts for this lucas 25689f starter. I did a few google searches and did not find the parts I need to rebuild. A new starter from torresen marine is over 1000.00 any help please.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-08-2008

fullkeel7 is on a distinguished road
WOW! Sounds like you need to find another purchase point. Starters ain't cheap, but find a dealer that doesn't PLATED their starters!

Bluewater, I've only had to buy 2 starters. I started my search in the phone book (emergency situations) for a marina or marina parts dealer that handled the manufacture brand for the engine. Both times I was able to get the OEM part (YANMAR) and both ran around $450.00, maybe less IIRC. If you have time to search and cross referencing, surely you could do a little better cost wise. That price seems way out of line.

Bob
Old 07-08-2008

funsailthekeys is on a distinguished road
old starters

I was able to find a new gear reduction starter for a 1969 Volvo MD 29 from a starter shop in Miami. All it took was an adapter ring that they made in house-total cost was about $350.00. I'm sorry that I don't remember the name of the shop, but it's a place to start. sucks getting old
Old 07-08-2008

hellosailor has a spectacular aura about hellosailor has a spectacular aura about