Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-22-2008

sailingtime is on a distinguished road
reverse polarity problem

I am new to the luxury of having shore power which also means I am clueless to dealing with any problems with it other than plugging in the cord. Up until last weekend everything worked great until I lost power and the “reverse polarity” indicator light came on. I discovered that the indicator light would go out and the normal “service” light would come on if nothing was plugged into any receptacles. As soon as something was plugged back in the “service” light went out and the “reverse polarity” light came on. Can anyone give me an idea of what I am dealing with and how best to approach fixing it?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-22-2008
Plausible Deniability

hellosailor has a spectacular aura about hellosailor has a spectacular aura about
It is possible that the marina has reversed the power leads on your dock, or that your own shore power wiring is crossed at some point. Go to any hardware store, for $5 you can buy a little power outlet tester with three lights on it, that plugs directly into a socket to test for these things. If necessary, get an adapter so it can plug directly into the dock power, or wire one up.

If you've never plugged into shore power before..odds are 50-50 whether it is your wiring, or the marinas. If no one else has a problem with the marina power--time to check your wiring out. If you find "household" grade power cords on the boat, that's a big hint right away.
Old 07-22-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice