Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-22-2008

JLBJR is on a distinguished road
Leaking ports

Both fixed ports on my 28 foot Sabre are leaking and believe it or not Sabre's website offers a section drawing and instructions to help with removal, re-bedding and replacement of the lexan ports. All good news so far, the bad news is this is not as small a job as one would expect and requires things I have no experience with, i.e. "Butyl tape and Silpruf precast white???" A friend recently suggested that a trend in fixed light replacement for old boats like mine is to do away with the aluminum frame completely, make lexan replacements slightly larger then the opening, pre-drill perimeter holes in the new light and screw it directly to the outside of the cabin top using 5200 as a bed and edge sealer. Then make a trim ring of some kind to dress up the inside. Part of me wants to go the "easy" new way, but part of me wants to stay traditional. At the end of the day, what I really want, is to do a good job and to stop the leak. What do you folks think is the best course of action?

Looking forward to your suggestions.

JLBJR
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-22-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice
IF the aluminum frame is in good shape, I would recommend still using them. Many of the more contemporary boats use much what you're friend suggested—oversized lexan ports held via through-bolts.