Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 07-31-2008

sternmann is on a distinguished road
Question Ancient marine compass renovation

Hi guys,

I am new at comming on a marine site, but it is the place where I think I will get my answers. I inherited from my father in law a beautiful piece of furniture with an embedded marine compass. It sits on four lion's paw legs and the compass it self is still functional, meaning (in my limited knowledge) that it still points North. I want to keep it and want to revamp it and it really makes for a beautiful marine decoration item.

The compass itself, is about ten inches in diameter (twelve inches including the swiveling mechanism) the bottom part is bowl-like and about 6 inches deep. The glass at its top seems to be held in waterproofness by a top metal ring with 16 small bolts and the seems to be a kind of a gasket.

Now the glass is chipped a bit, so I would like to replace it (the waterproofness is not compromised) and also, the inside of the bowl that seems to be painted in white is filled partly with pieces of peeled off paint and some peeling is present on the inside of the bowl.

The three things I would like to do, are : replace the glass top and its gasket, clean up the bow and repaint it and also replace the liquid inside. Should I use plain water, mineralized water, distilled water or another mix I should prepare ?

I sincerely hope someone out there could help me do this as in my mind my father in law was a real gentleman and I feel like I owe him to fix it corrrectly. You are welcome to pont me in the right direction on the web or with a phone number I could use to call and get more info . Incidently, I am from Montreal, Quebec, Canada a bit off the water, but nevertheless loves it.

Thanks a million

Jean

Last edited by sternmann; 07-31-2008 at 02:33 AM. Reason: forgotten a few words
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-31-2008