Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 08-18-2008

FishFinder is on a distinguished road
Heater location issues

Well my boat doesn't have a heater, and I'm finding out that having one would be very nice here in the northwest. I have no experience with heaters before but I like the idea of the simple diesel bulkhead-mount heaters (like the SIG-100). Problem is, that I am having trouble finding a good place to mount this type of heater, as from what I understand they need to be about 6" away from combustibles and should have a 3 foot exhaust rise. I attached a picture of 2 possible mounting points, I was hoping to get some advice.

The position above the couch wont' have nearly enough room for 3' of exhaust pipe, the whole space above the cushions is about 3'. And the exhaust might intefere with the lines running aft from the mast. Not to mention interfering with anyone sitting on the couch in front of the heater.

The position on the foreword bulkhead has more vertical room but I worry about the heater being in the way and too near the cabinet, as well as the exhaust port catching on the jib or jib sheets when tacking.

Any thoughts? I guess the other option is forced air heating but I would have installation issues with that one as well.
Attached Thumbnails
Heater location issues-heatermnt.jpg  

Last edited by FishFinder; 08-18-2008 at 08:30 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-19-2008
Telstar 28

sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice sailingdog is just really nice