Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2008
Montgomery 17

Perithead is on a distinguished road
Bought a project boat: South Coast 22 '76

Well everyone, winter is coming and I needed something to do in the cold weather. I hate the cold even though we havent seen snow here since 1993.

The not so good:
The boat isnt in to bad of shape. She is very dirty and needs cleaning then I plan on repainting the whole thing, inside and out. The hull is in good shape just some scratches here and there that can be repaired easily. The topsides are pretty good but there is some cracking in quite a few places.I plan on repainting the topsides and figure just some epoxy work would hopefully do the job. I plan on rebeding most if not all the deck hardware. The cabin isnt in to great of condition and since I am a carpenter and a furniture maker I figured I would just rip it all out and play with the layout. The trailer isnt to bad I just need to sandblast it, paint, repack bearings, already put on new tires.

Now the good:
The best thing about the boat I believe are the sails. It has the main and jib, not sure the size of the jib I guess I will learn how to measure it.(any tips?) It came with a spinaker also. All the sails look to be in good condition. I didnt lay them out but in the bags they looked clean and pretty crisp. The spinaker looks the best, but I will lay them out and get some pictures in the next few days.
It came with a Chrysler 7.5 I believe it is. It ran last time the PO tried to crank it so I think it is fine. I know I should have tried to crank it before purchasing but the owner was a long time family freind so he seemed trustworthy.
The rudder mast and boom are all there and in good condition, although I will probably refinish the rudder.

The boat has only one minor soft spot and it is on the starboard side around the cockpit. Hard to describe where but I will add pictures soon.