Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Gear & Maintenance
 Not a Member? 
Old 09-30-2008

mtmd is on a distinguished road
Contaminated Water Tank

Hello all,

I bought a new (to me) boat this spring, had a blast sailing it all summer, and now with the impending winter haul out I am looking toward 'issues' that I haven't gotten to yet. (too many fine days to be out on the water).

The water in my tank has the black slimy cruds. I found this when I first bought her (she had been sitting for a while with a near full water tank) and so just didn't do anything with that water until now.

I have read a few posts regarding a 'shock' treatment with chlorine, or using iodine, etc... but I am looking for experience and opinions regarding cleaning a badly (I think... I'm pretty new to all this... but being in health care black slimy crud 'looks' pretty bad) contaminated tank.

It is a simple system... tank to hose to "Whale" manual hand pump faucet.

Thanks in advance for the ideas.

Kevin
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-30-2008

skyellab is on a distinguished road
You want to drain out all the water. You then put 1/4 cup of plain bleach (uncented) to every 15 gallons of water. Put water in the tank to half full before adding the bleach and then top it off.

Let stand for a day. Drain it!

Put 1 quart of cider vinegar in for every 5 gallons of water. Let that stand for a few days. Everything should be germ free and taste and smell good with the next fill of water.
Old 09-30-2008

k1vsk will become famous soon enough
in addition to the above, make sure the bleach solution sits in the plumbing as well as the tank as it is more often the pipes which are more "contaminated" than the tank itself. Also, if you have cleanouts on the tank, scrub it thoroughly to remove any residue adhered to the walls and be prepared to follow the same process come springtime to commission the tank and plumbing
Old 09-30-2008
Telstar 28